If you missed class today I posted the portfolio guidelines on the “Assignments” page of this blog.

For Monday, please play around a bit with this web site:

http://vna.nmolp.org/creativespaces/

Nine European museums have gotten together to let you play curator with their collections. The connection to our current activities is, I hope, obvious. What do you think? Can you imagine something like this being useful for political material, or for collections of online objects other than art?

_________________

More links! You don’t have to read these, but gosh I wish you would check out a couple of them. Our conversation in class today got me searching for some more Kindle-related answers, and I found this article in the New Yorker by Nicholson Baker on the Kindle, as well as this live chat with Baker afterward. The live chat is particularly interesting, and you need not have read the article first to basically understand it.

I wasn’t aware of the service one of the live chat commenters mentions, Times 2.0. It appears to be a subscription service that gives you a version of the Times that feels even more like holding the paper in your hands, with real-time updates. A partial solution to journalism’s troubles?

A commenter also mentions Kindle for the iPod–I just tried it and I like it A LOT. Brighter screen, can share books with the Kindle, remembers what page you are on when you go back and forth. (But, shorter battery life, smaller screen…) That last one is amazing, and a little creepy. The “tethered” nature of these devices gives me a little pause. I’m really not sure I like corporations knowing what I read. But then, I order lots of books online, so they know anyway, and they more or less know when I use my credit card to buy books as well. Only libraries are still safe. Did you know you have to have a subpoena to get someone’s library records? Although it’s easier now for the government with the Patriot Act…

Finally, yet another commenter references Sven Birkerts article in the Atlantic Monthly about what we loose when we go from page to screen reading. I haven’t read this one yet, but I’ll spend part of my afternoon doing just that!

That’s it for Kindle links, but I also found this article about professional blogging–covers some topics we have already discussed re: non-democracy of the paid blogger online crowd, but interesting nonetheless.

Amended this post to add a link to a GREAT and scary article title “Google and the New Digital Future” in the latest New York Review of Books. People, I can’t quite keep up with this stuff…Read this one, if you can.

And here’s Adie’s fabulous link about Princeton’s pilot of the Kindle in classes in lieu of textbooks.

